Employment Law Report

White House Announces Nominations of Three NLRB Members

By Ed Hopson and George Miller

On July 9, 2009, the White House announced that it was sending the U.S. Senate the nominations of Craig Becker, Mark Gaston Pearce, and Brian Hayes to be members of the National Labor Relations Board. If the Senate confirms these nominees, the NLRB will have a full complement of five members for the first time since December 16, 2007. Becker, Pearce, and Hayes would join the current members: Chairman, Wilma B. Liebman and Member Peter C. Schaumber.  

Craig Becker currently serves as Associate General Counsel to both the Service Employees International Union and the AFL-CIO in Washington, D.C.

Mark Gaston Pearce has been a labor lawyer in Buffalo, New York for many years representing unions.

Brian Hayes currently serves as the Republican Labor Policy Director for the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions. Before taking his position in the Senate, Hayes practiced law in Massachusetts, representing employers in labor and employment matters. 

The political party line-up would be as follows:

Chairman Wilma Liebman – Democrat—term expiring August 27, 2011

Mark Gaston Pearce – Democrat – term expiring August 27, 2013

Craig Becker – Democrat – term expiring December 16, 2014

Peter Schaumber – Republican – term expiring August 27, 2010

Brian Hayes – Republican – term expiring December 16, 2012

The NLRB’s General Counsel is Ronald Meisburg, a Republican from Louisville, KY, whose term expires August 4, 2010.


George J. Miller
George Miller is a member of the Firm’s Labor & Employment Service Team.  He concentrates his practice in the areas of labor and employment law and eminent domain law. Read More